Unleash the leader within!

Sila Shahid
2 min readApr 4, 2021

--

“I will do it later”

“I will do it tonight”

“I will do it tomorrow morning”

Since the past 2 days, these are the voices inside my head fueling up the caged procrastinator. Let me share a quick recap of the past week that you would definitely relate to. Read on to learn how I took inspiration from a small initiative to unleash the leader within!

Floor covered with a light blue sheet, cushions unaligned, namaz chair lingering in the middle, and a mint green pillow clearly explains the aftermath. This place looks nothing like the space we welcome guests into.

This photo is from my house’s drawing room that was set up for Shab e baraat prayers. Since the next day was a working day and everyone was fasting, the drawing room was left as it is. The thought of putting things back to its place went through my mind over and over — every time to be countered with the, now, enraged procrastinator.

The voices in my head needed a sense of direction. To be told that

“Now is when you need to get up!”

“Now is when you need to take an initiative”

“Now is when you fix the drawing room”

To serve this purpose Amal came to the rescue! This enraged procrastinator was caged again as soon I read the title “fix your surroundings” on Amal’s week two project work while positioned in midst of the mess. I instantly got up and got to work!

Sitting down to reflect on the tidy surroundings is extremely rewarding. I wish to do this more often but am unable to because I have an unhealthy habit of delaying tasks. Which is why it is highly unlikely I would have completed this task without being asked to by the Amal team and felt guilty afterwards when my sister would have taken this initiative. I wish to become this prompt with my initiatives and this activity made me realize it’s really not a tough bar to maintain.

Bottom line is — take on small initiatives. Instead of aimlessly searching for a reason to do something, be your own guide. Give yourself that authority to unleash the leader within!

--

--